How on earth did this happen?

So, I appear to have started a blog (if you’re reading this, then you’re way ahead of me).

This turn of events is mildly surprising on a few levels.  Firstly, before this morning I had never expressed an interest in reading, let alone writing a blog.  Secondly, I’m a middle aged dunce who still thinks faxing is kinda neat and space-agey.  Thirdly, I have no idea what I’m going to be writing about.

A bit of background, then about how we came to be here.  Well, today – or Monday, two days time, if you’re going to be picky – marks the beginning of a career break, a middle-aged gap year, I’ve decided to take.  The reasons for this are many, and not especially pleasant or interesting to relate.  The end result is, nevertheless, that I find myself, at the age of 41, and with not a kick-in-the-pants off 20 years uninterrupted professional working experience, without a job to go to on Monday morning.

When I decided to do this, the reactions of people around me were varied – happiness for me, well-meant envy, concern about how I was going to manage. But everyone, to a person asked one thing –

‘What are you going to do?”

This part I had no answer for.  The Shirley Valentine-like break I was making only had a place I was heading from, not somewhere I was going to.  I then hit upon the ingenious explanation that I wasn’t going to do anything.  I was merely going to be.  In this way, I embark upon this year, not resolving to travel, or learn a language or study.  Although I might do any or all of these things.  Instead, this year will be shaped by notions occurring and fancies tickled.  It’ll be interesting to see where, if anywhere this leads. First unexpected whim of this journey?

Write a blog.

Leave a comment